ENGL 254-Advanced Composition / Couch

What do Reference Databases include?

• Handbooks
• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Some are specific to specific disciplines - such as art, history, literature, psychology, etc.
• Cover a wide variety of topics

What are Reference Databases good for?

• Find definitions, statistics, biographical and historical information
• Find overview information
• Obtain background on your topic and get started
• Help you decide if a topic choice will work for your assignment

Ask a librarian or your instructor for assistance

Help, Tutorials, Videos Available for Credo - How to Find

• Use the Help, Tutorials, and More ... option beneath the Credo database description in any Guide (as above) or on the A-Z Databases

Searching Credo

• Suggested search terms
  • use a word or short phrase from your topic
• Use the main search box
• Browse the results. A topic overview article is often early in the list
• Use the Mind Map at the top right of the results to identify and explore related terms or topics
• To focus the results you may use the upper Articles sub-tabs by Type (Definitions, Reference), Subject (Biography, History, etc.) or Length or choose images
• Select an article

Mind Map

• Use the Mind Map, if available, at the top right of the results to identify and explore related terms or topics.
• Example: Credo Mind Map for Sleep

Email, Save, or Print the Article. Copy the Citation. Do at least two!

• Copy citation -- Use the Citation" button in the upper menu. Choose MLA or APA as needed, and copy into your Works Cited or References list
• Print PDF. Use the Share option on the upper menu and choose Print PDF from the Action sub-menu. Citations print on final page.
• Email. Use the Share option on the upper menu. Check the Full Text option. Email also includes the citation and a link back to the article.
• Several save options are available from the Share option on the upper menu.