Skip to Main Content
MCCC Library Homepage

ENGL 254-Advanced Composition / Couch

by David Peck, based on prior edition by Cindy Yonovich

What are Article Databases?

Article Databases

  • Chosen by the librarians. Most are subscriptions (not free)
  • Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
  • Sources may include scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and others
  • Search using terms from your assignment topic
    • Do not use sentences - "Find me ten good articles for my paper due tomorrow" will not work
  • Each includes different sources according to its own editorial policies
  • Each may have similar features, but navigation details will differ
    • Selected videos, help pages, and tutorials may be listed in the Help, Tutorials and More ... option under the database listing in the A-Z Databases page or in this guide
    • Look for directions and tips on the database's search page

Ask a librarian or your instructor  for assistance

See A-Z Databases page for a complete listing of our databases

Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Journal Articles

Intended audience: other professionals or researchers in that discipline

According to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Ed. (p. 376)

"Scholarly journal articles are original, primary publications, which means they have not been previously published, contribute to the body of scientific knowledge, and have been reviewed by a panel of peers."

The article often:

  • Contains a References or Works Cited list
  • Has author(s) affiliated with a university, college, museum, hospital or government agency

Article Databases -- Examples

Searching--

  • Use terms, not phrases or sentences

    • Use alternate terms or synonyms as needed

    • Use Boolean operators for multiple terms

  • Change the drop down options as needed

  • Check the Limit Results boxes for

    • Full text

    • Also peer reviewed if needed

  • Limit Publication Date as needed

    • Last five (5) years is current

    • Last three (3) years is very current

  • Click on the Search box

Tip - If you find a really useful article, try the Find Similar Results option available on the detailed record

View Articles--Email, Save, Print, Cite

  • Click on the PDF or HTML for full text

    • Review the article for content

    • Print, Save or E-mail the article

    • For e-mailed articles:

      • Select PDF with check

      • Citation Format--MLA or APA

Cite, Email, Save, Print

  • Do at least two

To search ProQuest Central--
  • Enter search terms in the box
  • Use Boolean operators as needed
    • AND--to narrow a search
    • OR--for synonyms
    • NOT--to exclude term
  • Click on the Search button

To find an article--
  • Peruse the list of articles
  • Limit by date published as needed
  • Note the date and length of an article
  • Select one by clicking on the title
  • Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
    • Determine if article is appropriate
    • Evaluate the complexity of the article
To save & print an article + citation--
  • Click on the Full-text PDF tab to view the article
    • Article appears as it did in the original journal
    • Allows you to see charts, pictures, etc.
  • Look for the Tools Box in the right frame
    • Click on the Download PDF button
    • Print or save or e-mail the article
  • Click on the Cite link in the Tools Box
    • Select the MLA 8 OR APA style from the citation drop-down box
    • Highlight and copy the citation
    • Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
  • Click on the Back to Results link to find other articles
Search JSTOR for articles--
  • Enter your search terms
    • Use the Boolean operators as needed
    • Click on the Add Field box as needed
  • At the bottom, you may use the Journal Filter -- Narrow by Discipline to focus the results
    • Example -- check boxes for History, Political Science, Gender Studies, and Sociology
  • Click on Search
To find an article--

  • Select the specific Academic Content in the list as needed

  • Use Publication Date setting in left frame to limit dates for more recent articles

  • Note the date and length of an article
  • Peruse the list of articles
  • Select one by clicking on the title
  • Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
    • Determine if article is appropriate
    • Evaluate the complexity of the article
To save/print an article, report, book chapter, etc. + citation--
  • Click on the Download PDF button and print or save the article
  • Click on the Share button to email the item
  • Click on the CITE THIS ITEM button
    • Select the APA or MLA style citation
    • Click on the Copy button in the pop-up box
    • Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
  • Click on the Results link to find other articles
Newsbank--searching:
  • Click on newspaper title of choice
  • -OR- search all sources simultaneously
  • Enter search terms
  • Click on Search
Newsbank--results
  • Edit results with facets in left frame
    • Use Best Match or Newest
    • Use Date Selector for years
  • Click on Apply button

 

Newsbank--article
  • Download, email or print article
  • Include citation in MLA or APA format
    • Download PDF with citation of choice
    • Create citation from link for email, copy & paste
    • To print, select citation first
  • Use Back to Results link for other articles

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian