MCCC Library Guides: ENGL 254-Advanced Composition / Couch: Issues & Viewpoints (Reports) Databases

Why Use Issues Databases?

Choose and develop your topic

Summaries and concise coverage of issues in politics, environment, health, civil rights, education, culture, society and more
Search or browse lists of topics

Find overview and background information

Viewpoints (pro and con)
Selected news, magazine and academic articles
Statistics and images
Recommended websites and videos

Issues (Reports) Databases

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of current issues of high interest. Find selected points-of-view articles, magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, primary source documents and more. A good place to pick a topic for an assignment and get started.
- Points of View Reference Center -- Tutorial (from EBSCO)
- How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account (from EBSCO)

Find a Specific issue/topic

Browse In the news
Browse By Category
Click on Show All for a complete listing
Use Basic or Advanced Search Box

Points of View main page - browse navigation

Cite and Email, Save, Print

Do at least two

Email - Choose MLA option for Citation Format, PDF as attachment
Cite - edit to meet MLA guidelines
Save to Google Drive
Print, etc.
Do NOT Bookmark - Use Permalink option

Source Types available

Points of View (pro/con)
Magazines
Newspapers
Academic Journal
Primary Source Documents

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Browse/Search

Browse Issues
Browse Categories
Enter terms into search box

Categories available for a topic

Related topics
Viewpoints
Academic journals
Statistics
Websites, etc.

Articles--printing and citation building:

Click on DOWNLOAD in TOOLS BOX
- The article will open in a new window
- Print or Save article from the new window
Click on CITE
- Click on MLA or APA
- Click on SELECT
- Copy & paste to Word or Notepad
- Print or Save the citation

CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on major issues of current interest. Articles include overview, historical background, pro/con points of view, resources for additional research, and more. A good starting point to choose a topic for your assignment.
- How to Use CQ Researcher Features - Search, Browse, Print, Save (from CQ Press)
- CQ Researcher - How to Cite (from CQ Press)

**Searching CQ Researcher--TWO WAYS TO SEARCH**

#1--Click on BROWSE TOPICS

Click on TOPIC
Browse articles

#2--Use the Quick Search box

Enter keywords in the Search box
Click on Search

**Results for CQ Researcher--**

Look for the most recent article on your topic
Click on the title link to see the article
Note--more than one article may prove helpful

**Articles & Citations for CQ Researcher--**

Use the TOOLS BOX to PRINT, SAVE or E-MAIL the article as needed
Click on CiteNow! to print or save the citation
- APA is the default
- Click on MLA to change the citation format if necessary
- Print or save the citation page, keep it with your Works Cited

ENGL 254-Advanced Composition / Couch

Why Use Issues Databases?

Choose and develop your topic

Find overview and background information

Issues (Reports) Databases

Find a Specific issue/topic

Cite and Email, Save, Print

Source Types available

Browse/Search

Articles--printing and citation building:

Click on DOWNLOAD in TOOLS BOX

The article will open in a new window

Print or Save article from the new window

Click on CITE

Click on MLA or APA

Click on SELECT

Copy & paste to Word or Notepad

Print or Save the citation

Searching CQ Researcher--TWO WAYS TO SEARCH

#1--Click on BROWSE TOPICS

Click on TOPIC

Browse articles

#2--Use the Quick Search box

Enter keywords in the Search box

Click on Search

Results for CQ Researcher--

Look for the most recent article on your topic

Click on the title link to see the article

Note--more than one article may prove helpful

Articles & Citations for CQ Researcher--

Use the TOOLS BOX to PRINT, SAVE or E-MAIL the article as needed

Click on CiteNow! to print or save the citation

APA is the default

Click on MLA to change the citation format if necessary

Print or save the citation page, keep it with your Works Cited

**Searching CQ Researcher--TWO WAYS TO SEARCH**

**Results for CQ Researcher--**

**Articles & Citations for CQ Researcher--**