Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 251--Modern Social Problems/Roberts: Article Databases

by Cindy L. Yonovich

ARTICLE DATABASES--FOR CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFO & RESEARCH

Article Databases are--
  • Carefully selected subscriptions
  • Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
  • Sources include scholarly journals (some peer-reviewed), magazines & newspapers
  • Search using keywords from your assignment
  • Each database indexes different sources and has its own editorial policy 
  • Each database navigates differently
    • Look for directions and tips on the search page
    • Ask the librarian for assistance

EBSCO ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE--ARTICLE DATABASES

Searching--
  • Enter your search terms in the search boxes
  • Use the drop down options as needed for keyword, subject, etc.
  • Check the Limit Results boxes for full text (& peer reviewed if needed)
  • Click on the Search link
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
View Articles--Printing & Citation Building
  • Click on the PDF or HTML link for full text
    • Review the article for content
    • Print the article
  • Print the citation in MLA or APA format
    • Click on the Print icon in the Tools Box
    • Click on the middle radial button
    • Select either MLA or APA in the drop down box
    • Click Print to build the citation
    • Print citation and keep it with the article
    • Edit as needed to comply with MLA or APA guidelines

PROQUEST CENTRAL--ARTICLE DATABASES

To search Sociology Database & ProQuest Central--
  • Enter search terms in the box
  • Click on the Full Text & Peer Reviewed boxes
  • Click on the Search button
To find an article--
  • Peruse the list of articles
  • Limit by date published as needed
  • Note the date and length of an article
  • Select one by clicking on the title
  • Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
    • Determine if article is appropriate
    • Evaluate the complexity of the article
To save & print an article + citation--
  • Click on the Full-text PDF tab to view the article
    • Article appears as it did in the original journal
    • Allows you to see charts, pictures, etc.
  • Look for the Tools Box in the right frame
    • Click on the Download PDF button
    • Print or save or e-mail the article
  • Click on the Cite link in the Tools Box
    • Select the MLA 8 OR APA style from the citation drop-down box
    • Highlight and copy the citation
    • Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
  • Click on the Back to Results link to find other articles

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Founders Hall atrium (Building F) | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: askalibrarian@monroeccc.edu