MCCC Library Guides: HIST 153--History of Michigan: Reference Databases

CREDO

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)

Search two ways--

Enter terms in the Basic Search Box, click on Search button
- Topic Page is often the first entry, then reference entries
- Browse the entries
- Click on the title to see the article
- Click on PRINT icon to print the article
  - Article opens in a PDF
  - MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-
Click on the BROWSE link
- Open the TITLES link
- Click on the link for a discipline
- Scroll through the titles listed
- Select a reference work to search
  - Enter your search terms
  - Click on the title of an article
  - PRINT article & citation page
Search term examples--
- Automotive industry
- Detroit
- Great Depression
- Michigan
- Racism
- Recession
- Riot
- Studs Terkel
- Vietnam War

SALEM PRESS REFERENCE

Salem Press Reference (Salem Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find reference articles on literature, history, science, and health from Salem reference works -- Masterplots, Critical Surveys, ,Defining Documents, Magill's Medical Guide, Forensic Science, etc.
- Salem Press Online Intro Video (from Salem, 2:07)

History>Defining Documents in American History: Eras--primary source documents – many in their entirety. Each document is supported by a critical essay, written by historians and teachers, that includes a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.

For HIST 153--

Defining Documents in American History: World War II (1939–1946)
Defining Documents in American History: Postwar 1940s (1945–1950)
Defining Documents in American History: The Vietnam War (1956–1975)
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954–2015)

Click on document link--

Note TABLE OF CONTENTS
- Read SUMMARY, DEFINING MOMENT & BIOGRAPHY for historical context
- Read HISTORICAL DOCUMENT for primary source
- Read DOCUMENT ANALYSIS & ESSENTIAL THEMES for historical significance
Tools box in left frame:
- Print this article
- Article Citation
  - Select MLA format
  - Copy & paste

HIST 153--History of Michigan: Reference Databases

REFERENCE DATABASES FOR HIST 153

Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias--

For overview info, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics

Coverage for a wide variety of disciplines & topics

Find primary and secondary resources

Formats include online or in print

Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance

CREDO

Search two ways--

Enter terms in the Basic Search Box, click on Search button

Topic Page is often the first entry, then reference entries

Browse the entries

Click on the title to see the article

Click on PRINT icon to print the article

Article opens in a PDF

MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-

Click on the BROWSE link

Open the TITLES link

Click on the link for a discipline

Scroll through the titles listed

Select a reference work to search

Enter your search terms

Click on the title of an article

PRINT article & citation page

Search term examples--

Automotive industry

Detroit

Great Depression

Michigan

Racism

Recession

Riot

Studs Terkel

Vietnam War

SALEM PRESS REFERENCE

For HIST 153--

Defining Documents in American History: World War II (1939–1946)

Defining Documents in American History: Postwar 1940s (1945–1950)

Defining Documents in American History: The Vietnam War (1956–1975)

Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954–2015)

Click on document link--

Note TABLE OF CONTENTS

Read SUMMARY, DEFINING MOMENT & BIOGRAPHY for historical context

Read HISTORICAL DOCUMENT for primary source

Read DOCUMENT ANALYSIS & ESSENTIAL THEMES for historical significance

Tools box in left frame:

Print this article

Article Citation

Select MLA format

Copy & paste