MCCC Library Guides: Psychology: PROQUEST Article Databases

ARTICLE DATABASES--FOR CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFO & RESEARCH

Carefully selected subscriptions
Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
Sources include scholarly journals (some peer-reviewed), magazines & newspapers
Search using keywords from your assignment
Each database indexes different sources and has its own editorial policy
Each database navigates differently
- Look for directions and tips on the search page
- Ask the librarian for assistance

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed (scholarly) and trade magazine articles in behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, social and other areas of psychology.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles; also dissertations, reports and more across all major subject areas, including business, health & medical, social sciences, arts & humanities, education, science, technology, and religion.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

Peruse the list of articles
Limit by date published as needed
Note the date and length of an article
Select one by clicking on the title
Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
- Determine if article is appropriate
- Evaluate the complexity of the article

Click on the Full-text PDF tab to view the article
- Article appears as it did in the original journal
- Allows you to see charts, pictures, etc.
Look for the Tools Box in the right frame
- Click on the Download PDF button
- Print or save or e-mail the article
Click on the Cite link in the Tools Box
- Select the MLA 8 OR APA style from the citation drop-down box
- Highlight and copy the citation
- Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
Click on the Back to Results link to find other articles