Skip to main content
Monroe County Community College
MCCC Library Guides
SOC 151--Principles of Sociology
Search this Guide
SOC 151--Principles of Sociology: Overview
by Cindy L. Yonovich
What is a scholarly journal?
APA Citation Style
MLA Citation Style
Library resources to use for your assignment—
Sources include magazines, journals & newspapers
To find current, cutting edge information & research
Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias online
For overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics
Online information to identify, update & expand information
Evaluate each site carefully for credibility
Article Databases--Research Articles
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL)
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources. Provides full text for thousands of journals.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including various related fields; includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
Periodical databases across all major subject areas, including business, health & medical, social sciences, arts & humanities, education, science, technology, and religion.
Credo Reference (Infobase Learning)
Full text access to hundreds of reference book titles covering art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more; includes images, audio pronunciation files, & atlas information.
Source for detailed information on periodicals (serials) of all types: academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, & more.
Reference Books Online--use as needed
Gale Editors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Online version of Bioethics, an encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Online version of law encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference.
Internet Sources--for additional info
Online guide to government information and services.
SOC 151--Fall Term 2019
Article Databases >>
Feb 18, 2020 2:48 PM
Login to LibApps