MCCC Library Guides: SOC 151--Principles of Sociology: Reference Sources

REFERENCE DATABASE--CREDO

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)

Search two ways--

Enter terms Basic Search Box, click on Search button
- Topic Page often the first entry, followed by reference entries
- Browse the entries
- Click on the title to see the article
- Click on PRINT icon to print the article
  - Article opens in a PDF
  - MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-
Click on the BROWSE CREDO link (3 lines next to logo)
- Open a link
- Scroll through the titles listed
- Select a reference work to search
  - Enter your search terms
  - Click on the title of an article
  - PRINT article & citation page

REFERENCE BOOKS ONLINE--Gale Virtual Reference

Bioethics by Gale Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662053
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Online version of Bioethics, an encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
ISBN: 9781414436845
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Online version of law encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference.

Gale Virtual Reference Online--searching

Click on title of reference work
Enter your terms in the search box
Click on the Search button
Browse the articles

Gale Virtual Reference Online--View Items--Printing & Citation Building

To see an individual article, click on the title to open it

PRINT the item
- Click on the Download icon in the Tools box
- Select PDF & click on Download
- Click Open in bottom box
- Print PDF with Adobe Print button
BUILD the CITATION by clicking on the Citation Tools button in the Tools box
- A Citation box appears--click on the MLA or APA
- Click on OPEN when Downloaded Document Complete box opens
- PRINT the CITATION PAGE

SOC 151--Principles of Sociology: Reference Sources

REFERENCE DATABASE & BOOKS (ONLINE & PAPER)--For overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics

Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Formats include online or in print

Use for overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics

Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance

REFERENCE DATABASE--CREDO

Search two ways--

Enter terms Basic Search Box, click on Search button

Topic Page often the first entry, followed by reference entries

Browse the entries

Click on the title to see the article

Click on PRINT icon to print the article

Article opens in a PDF

MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-

Click on the BROWSE CREDO link (3 lines next to logo)

Open a link

Scroll through the titles listed

Select a reference work to search

Enter your search terms

Click on the title of an article

PRINT article & citation page

REFERENCE BOOKS ONLINE--Gale Virtual Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Online--searching

Click on title of reference work

Enter your terms in the search box

Click on the Search button

Browse the articles

Gale Virtual Reference Online--View Items--Printing & Citation Building

To see an individual article, click on the title to open it

PRINT the item

Click on the Download icon in the Tools box

Select PDF & click on Download

Click Open in bottom box

Print PDF with Adobe Print button

BUILD the CITATION by clicking on the Citation Tools button in the Tools box

A Citation box appears--click on the MLA or APA

Click on OPEN when Downloaded Document Complete box opens

PRINT the CITATION PAGE