Skip to Main Content

MCCC Library Homepage

ENGL 256--Children's Literature, Nartker: YA Books

YA BOOK PROJECT/ Book & Author Info--Young Adult Fiction Core Collection, Something About the Author & Literature Criticism Online (Children's Literature Review)

Use the reference books & databases to find info about the authors & individual titles--

Young Adult Fiction Core Collection--bibliographical info for individual works
Something About the Author Online--biographical info about the author
Literature Criticism Online (Children's Literature Review)--book reviews, awards & Literary criticism

YOUNG ADULT FICTION CORE COLLECTION--Bibliography

Young Adult Fiction Core Collection, 1st Edition (2015) by HW Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Z1037.A1 Y68 2015
ISBN: 9781619258662
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Highlights more than 2,500 recommended titles for young adult readers. Entries were carefully selected by specialists representing a diversity of backgrounds.

Part 1-- lists fictional works
Part 2-- contains a detailed Author, Title & Subject Index

SATA--Biographical Info for Authors

Something About the Author (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find biographical articles on authors and illustrators of literature for children and young adults, including information on awards and honors won and lists of their works. This is a part of Gale Literature

SATA--Searching

Enter the author's name--last name, first name
Click on Search

SATA--Results

Review the results
Notice the different publication dates
Select the most recent one for current info
Consider previous articles for historical info

SATA--Article--Printing & Citation Building

Printing

Click on the Zoom Button or Full Screen button to increase the size of the article
Determine the pages you want to print
Click on Print for the desired number of pages

Citation Building

Click on the Citation Tools button in the Tools Box
Click on Download for MLA (or APA)
Click on Open
Print the citation and attach to your article

LCO--Literary Criticism for Children's Books

Gale Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find literary criticism and commentary articles from journals, books, and more. Covers a wide range of authors. Sources include Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. This is a part of Gale Literature

CLR--Searching

Enter the author's name--last name, first name
You can also enter the title of a work
Click on Search

CLR--Results

Review the results

Notice the different publication dates
Note other links in the left frame
- Subjects
- Biography
- Publication Title
- Etc.
Select an article or click on link in left frame

CLR--Article--Printing & Citation Building

Printing

Click on the Zoom Button or Full Screen button to increase the size of the article
Determine the pages you want to print (note that they do not match the text--use the database pagination)
Click on Print for the desired number of pages

Citation Building

Click on the Wrench Icon in the Tools Box
Click on Download for MLA (or APA)
Click on SAVE, then Open
Print the citation and attach to your article

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian