MCCC Library Guides: ENGL 256--Children's Literature, Nartker: Overview

Reference Books

Children's Core Collection by Eve-Marie Miller (Editor); Liza Oldham (Editor); Christi Showman Farrar (Editor); H. W. Wilson Company Staff
Call Number: Z1035 .C5
ISBN: 9780824212391
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
The Children's Core Collection, (21st Edition, 2014) is a guide of approximately 12,000 books, covering fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels and magazines recommended for readers from preschool through grade six.
Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by Edward Quinn
Call Number: PN44.5 .Q56 1999
ISBN: 9780816032327
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
In clear, succinct, non-technical language, this new dictionary of more than 850 terms expands upon the definition of "literary."
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by Donald Haase
Call Number: GR74 .G73 2008
ISBN: 9780313334412
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Provides users with a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Alphabetically arranged entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics.
Young Adult Fiction Core Collection, 1st Edition (2015) by HW Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Z1037.A1 Y68 2015
ISBN: 9781619258662
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Highlights more than 2,500 recommended titles for young adult readers. Entries were carefully selected by specialists representing a diversity of backgrounds.

Reference Databases

Books In Print (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find descriptions and reviews of millions of books, audio, and video titles. Search by awards won, target audience (scholarly, trade, juvenile), format, and more.
Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)
Gale Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find literary criticism and commentary articles from journals, books, and more. Covers a wide range of authors. Sources include Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. This is a part of Gale Literature
Something About the Author (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find biographical articles on authors and illustrators of literature for children and young adults, including information on awards and honors won and lists of their works. This is a part of Gale Literature

Search the MCCC & Monroe County Library Sites for Children's Books

MCCC Library Site
MCCC's new library page; find print & electronic resources, library guides and more.
Monroe County Library System
MCLS offers a variety of electronic services including circulation, online catalog of materials, online journals and databases. Currently, children ages 0-14 make up 18.9% of the county’ population, teens ages 15-19 comprise 7.1% of the population, and senior citizens account for 13.7% of the population. Just as the ages of our patrons vary, so do their reasons for coming to the library.

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on a wide range of topics from many disciplines.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

Web Sites--Book Awards

ALA/ALSC--Book & Media Awards
Lists of award-winning and notable children's books arranged by award in a year-by-year format; includes the Belpre, Caldecott, Newbery awards plus others.
Banned & Challenged Books--ALA
Spotlights current and historical attempts to censor books in libraries and schools. Supports the freedom to seek and to express ideas, even those some consider unorthodox or unpopular.
Caldecott Medal Winners List
A full list of winners and honors for the Caldecott Medal by year.
Coretta Scott King Book Award Winner List
A full list of the Coretta Scott King Book Award winners and honors by year.

Web Sites--Authors

Thanhha Lai
Award winning children's author born in Saigon, Vietnam, immigrated to Montgomery, Alabama after the war in 1975 and currently lives north of New York City.
Pam--Pam Muñoz Ryan
Author's web site--contains list of books, biographical info, teaching suggestions, etc.
Dashka Slater
Author's web site--contains list of books, biographical info, teaching suggestions, etc.

ENGL 256--Children's Literature, Nartker: Overview

RESEARCH STRATEGY FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

Use a wide variety of sources & take advantage of the INDEXING for Children’s Literature!

Reference works are available in online and paper

Use them for background, overview, biographical info & literary criticism

They vary in scope and format

Look for multiple indexes to help you

Online databases allow you to apply limits and/or combine terms for optimal results

Sources include magazines, newspapers & journals

Use them for book reviews, author interviews, film reviews, etc

Each database has its own editorial policy and navigates differently

The online catalog allows you to search for books by author, title, subject & keyword

Use it to find books in the MCCC Children's Literature Collection

You can also find books about children's literature, awards, etc. in the MCCC collection

Consider using the Monroe County Library System to find additional materials

Web sites

Contain recent info--note the author, authenticity & currency

Find recent award winning children's books, plus author pages

Reference Books

Reference Databases

Search the MCCC & Monroe County Library Sites for Children's Books

Article Databases

Web Sites--Book Awards

Web Sites--Authors

ENGL 256-Nartker