ENGL 152--Feroni

Tutorials from EBSCO

Also listed on the Help, Tutorials, and More . . . option beneath the database description in any Guide, as above, or on the A-Z Databases

• Advanced Searching on EBSCO - Tutorial (from EBSCO). Note -- includes Email, Save, Print instructions
• Citing Articles on EBSCO - Tutorial (from EBSCO)

Searching Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

• Advanced Searching on EBSCO - Tutorial (from EBSCO)
• Enter your search terms in the search boxes. Consider any suggestions the database makes
  • Example: college students AND well-being
• Use the drop down options as needed for keyword, subject, etc.
• Check the Limit Results boxes for full text; also for peer reviewed, if needed
• Limit Publication Date as needed
• Search, then use the Refine Results menu as needed for more options
• Refine your search strategy and search terms as needed

Select and View an Article

• Browse the results. Read the abstract, a summary of the article, to see if you would like to read more
• Open the PDF if available. PDF's have the original formatting and page numbers. Full-text can vary in appearance and page numbers depending on your browser settings.

Email, Print, or Save the Article and Citation. Do at least two!

• Do NOT bookmark - it will not work later. Email, save, or print to be able to return to the article later
• Email the article to yourself using the right-side tools menu. Include PDF as Attachment (if available) and choose your preferred Citation Format. Email will include the citation and a link back to the article. Check the citation for style and format
• Save or print the article using the PDF-Full Text or Google Drive options
  • Print the article using the PDF-viewer print options, not the browser print button
• Copy or print the citation using the Cite option on the Tools menu. Choose the MLA 8th or APA 7th for Citation Format, as needed. Copy into your Works Cited or References lists. Check the citation for style and format
• Format. Email will include the citation and a link back to the article. Check the citation for style and format

Increase (Broaden) Number of Relevant Results

Use OR -- any, some, or all of the terms can match

• Use database term suggestions for similar terms containing OR
• Examples - terms suggested by the database as you type:
  • Before:   social media
  • After: social media OR twitter OR instagram
  • Before: ptsd
  • After: ptsd or post traumatic stress disorder

Focus Your Results

Use AND -- all of the terms must be present

• social media AND civility
• Both the term "social media" and the term "civility" must be present