ART 281 Art History Renaissance to Baroque

• Carefully selected subscriptions
• Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
• Sources may include scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
• Search using words or short phrases from your assignment topic (keywords)
• Each database indexes different sources & has its own editorial policy 
• Each database navigates differently
  • Look for directions and tips on the search page
  • Ask a librarian for assistance

Searching

• Enter search terms (words from your topic), such as Sistine chapel, into the search box
• Use the drop down options as needed for keyword, subject, etc.
• Check the Limit Results boxes for full text; also for peer reviewed, if needed
• Limit Publication Date as needed
• Click on the Search button

Select and View an Article

• Browse the results. Read the abstract, a summary of the article, to see if you would like to read more
• Open the PDF if available. PDF's have the original formatting and page numbers. Full-text can vary in appearance and page numbers depending on your browser settings.

Email, Print, or Save the Article and Citation

• Do at least two!
• Email the article to yourself using the right-side tools menu. Include PDF as Attachment (if available) and choose your preferred Citation Format. Email will include the citation and a link back to the article. Check the citation for style and format.
• Print the article using the PDF-viewer print options, not the browser print button.
• Print the citation using the right-side Tools menu. Choose the MLA 8th, or APA 7th for Citation Style, as needed. Or copy the citation into your Works Cited or References. Check the citation for style and format.
• Save the article PDF
  • A Google Drive option is available on the right-side menu
  • Use the PDF viewer options to download the PDF
• Use the Result List navigation to select other articles

Searching

• Enter search terms (words from your topic) into the box, such as Vermeer
• Click Full Text and Peer Reviewed checkboxes in Limit To menu and Search

Choose and View an Article

• Browse the articles in the search results
• Open one of the article titles. Check the abstract to evaluate if the article is useful
• Open the PDF if available. PDF's have the original formatting and page numbers. Full-text can vary in appearance and page numbers depending on your browser settings.

Email, Cite, Print, and Save the Article

• Do at Least Two!
• Email the article to yourself using the Email button on the upper tools menu. Email will include the full-text (but not the PDF format), the citation and a link back to the article. Check the citation for style and format before using.
• Print the article using the PDF-viewer print options, not the browser print button.
• Copy the citation into your Cited Works or References list. Use the Cite button (double-quotes) on the upper menu. Choose MLA 8th, or APA 7th for Citation Style, as needed. Check and correct the citation for style and format.
• Save the article
  • Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive options are available on the upper menu
  • Or use the PDF viewer options to download the PDF

Use the Back to results navigation to select other articles