ART 281 Art History Renaissance to Baroque

What do Reference Databases include?

• Handbooks
• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Some are specific to specific disciplines - such as art, history, literature, psychology, etc.
• Cover a wide variety of topics

What are Reference Databases good for?

• Find definitions, statistics, and biographical and historical information
• Find images
• Find overview information
• Obtain background on your topic and get started
• Help you decide if a topic choice will work for your assignment

Ask a librarian or your instructor for assistance

Images contained in Credo are citable and free to be used by faculty and students for research and educational purposes.

Credo Reference Image Search tutorial (video from Credo, 1:39) - also linked in the Help, Tutorials and More under the database description

Searching Credo

• Suggested search terms
  • Renaissance Art
  • Giotto (di Bondone) 
  • Lamentation Christ and Giotto
  • Weyden, Rogier van der
  • Brunelleschi, Filippo
  • Botticelli,  Sandro
  • Witz, Konrad
  • Masaccio (Tommaso di Giovanni)
  • Lippi, Fra Filippo
  • Mantegna, Andrea
  • Other individual artists
  • Titles of major art works
• Use the main search box
• Browse the results. A topic overview article is often early in the list.
• To focus the results you may use the upper Results tabs by Type (Definitions, Reference), All media (Contains images), Subject (Biography, History, etc.) or Length
• Select an article

Copy, Print, Save or Email the Article/Image and Citation

• Do at Least Two!
• Copy citation -- Use the Citation button in the upper menu. Choose MLA or APA as needed, and copy into your Works Cited or References list
• Print PDF. Use the Share option on the upper menu and choose Print PDF from the Action sub-menu. Citations print on final page.
• Email. Use the Share option on the upper menu. Check the Full Text option. Email also includes the citation and a link back to the article.
• Several save options are available from the Share option on the upper menu.

• Search using words from your topic, such as frescoes
• Use the Modify your Search options in the results
  • Field - Renaissance/Baroque Art
  • Medium
  • Era - 1400-1500 and 1500-1600
  • Region/Country - Europe
• Evaluate results
• Cite, Email, PDF/print your selected sources