Skip to Main Content
MCCC Library Homepage

Bias - Information Literacy Skill Development

Bias comes in many forms -- cognitive, media, implicit, outcome, stereotyping, etc. This resource identifies many bias resources, especially those related to information gathering, evaluation, and presentation.

ARTICLE DATABASES--FOR CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFO & RESEARCH

Article Databases--
  • Carefully selected subscriptions
  • Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles, some peer-reviewed
  • Sources include magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers
  • Search using keywords from your assignment
  • Each database indexes different sources and has its own editorial policy 
  • Each database navigates differently
    • Look for directions and tips on the search page
    • Ask the librarian for assistance

ARTICLE DATABASES

Searching--
  • Use terms, not phrases or sentences
    • Use alternate terms or synonyms as needed
    • Use Boolean operators for multiple terms
  • Change the drop down options as needed
  • Check the Limit Results boxes for
    • Full text
    • Also peer reviewed if needed
  • Limit Publication Date as needed
    • Last five (5) years is current
    • Last three (3) years is very current
  • Click on the Search box
View Articles--Printing & Citation Building
  • Click on the PDF or HTML for full text
    • Review the article for content
    • Print, Save or E-mail the article
    • For e-mailed articles:
      • Select PDF with check
      • Citation Format--MLA or APA
  • Build citation
    • Click Print icon in Tools Box
    • Click middle radial button of Print Box
    • Select either MLA or APA in the drop down box
    • Click Print to build the citation
    • Print, Save or E-mail the citation
To search ProQuest Central--
  • Enter search terms in the box
  • Use Boolean operators as needed
    • AND--to narrow a search
    • OR--for synonyms
    • NOT--to exclude term
  • Click on the Search button

To find an article--
  • Peruse the list of articles
  • Limit by date published as needed
  • Note the date and length of an article
  • Select one by clicking on the title
  • Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
    • Determine if article is appropriate
    • Evaluate the complexity of the article
To save & print an article + citation--
  • Click on the Full-text PDF tab to view the article
    • Article appears as it did in the original journal
    • Allows you to see charts, pictures, etc.
  • Look for the Tools Box in the right frame
    • Click on the Download PDF button
    • Print or save or e-mail the article
  • Click on the Cite link in the Tools Box
    • Select the MLA 8 OR APA style from the citation drop-down box
    • Highlight and copy the citation
    • Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
  • Click on the Back to Results link to find other articles
Search JSTOR for articles--
  • Enter your search terms
    • Use the Boolean operators as needed
    • Click on the Add Field box as needed
  • Click on Search
To find an article--

  • Select the specific Academic Content in the list as needed

  • Use Publication Date setting in left frame to limit dates for more recent articles

  • Note the date and length of an article
  • Peruse the list of articles
  • Select one by clicking on the title
  • Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
    • Determine if article is appropriate
    • Evaluate the complexity of the article
To save/print an article, report, book chapter, etc. + citation--
  • Click on the Download PDF button and print or save the article
  • Click on the Share button to email the item
  • Click on the CITE THIS ITEM button
    • Select the APA or MLA style citation
    • Click on the Copy button in the pop-up box
    • Paste the citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
  • Click on the Results link to find other articles
Newsbank--searching:
  • Click on newspaper title of choice
  • -OR- search all sources simultaneously
  • Enter search terms
  • Click on Search
Newsbank--results
  • Edit results with facets in left frame
    • Use Best Match or Newest
    • Use Date Selector for years
  • Click on Apply button

 

Newsbank--article
  • Download, email or print article
  • Include citation in MLA or APA format
    • Download PDF with citation of choice
    • Create citation from link for email, copy & paste
    • To print, select citation first
  • Use Back to Results link for other articles

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian