Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bias - Information Literacy Skill Development

Bias comes in many forms -- cognitive, media, implicit, outcome, stereotyping, etc. This resource identifies many bias resources, especially those related to information gathering, evaluation, and presentation.

DISCOVERY SEARCHING @ MCCC

MCCC Discovery Search--
  • MCCC Discovery Search is the search box on the library's main page
  • It searches MCCC databases for books, e-books, DVDs, articles, etc. simultaneously
    • Items held by the college will have location information, such as the call number
    • If the item is digital, it will provide a link for you to access it online
  • MCCC Discovery search includes a sampling of our databases for articles
    • It does not search all of our databases, see the A-Z Databases List for complete holdings
    • The more commonly used databases are included in the default settings
  • You will see information from a variety of different sources integrated together
    • Use the facets in the left frame to limit search results as needed
    • Limit by FORMAT, CONTENT TYPE, PUBLICATION YEAR, and DATABASES for best results
Enter your terms in the Discovery Search Box, click on SEARCH
  • Enter search terms
    • Keyword
    • Author
    • Title
    • Subject
  • Use Boolean operators as needed
    • AND--to narrow a search
    • OR--for synonyms
    • NOT--to exclude term

DISCOVERY SEARCH RESULTS

Book/eBook Search
  • Keyword=racism
  • Facets used
    • Book/eBook
    • Last 5 Years
  • Results
    • MCCC books
    • e-Books

Articles

  • Keyword=racism
  • Facets used
    • Article/Chapter
    • Full Text
    • Last 5 Years
  • Results
    • Newspaper articles
    • Magazine articles
    • Journal articles

Articles--Peer Reviewed

  • Keyword=racism
  • Facets used
    • Article/Chapter
    • Full Text + Peer Reviewed
    • Last 5 Years
  • Results
    • Journal Articles
  • Databases Facet
    • Note databases listed
    • Go to A-Z Database List