MCCC Library Guides: CIS 130--Winter Term, 2020: Report Databases

REPORT DATABASES--OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Searching--

Browse issues three ways:

Click on Browse Issues link
Browse categories
Enter search terms in top box

Click on a topic:

Note the On This Page list
Scroll down to locate articles
Click on articles of interest

Articles--printing and citation building:

Click on DOWNLOAD in TOOLS BOX
- The article will open in a new window
- Print from the new window
Click on CITE
- Click on MLA or APA
- Click on SELECT
- Copy & paste to Word or Notepad
- Print the citation

REPORT DATABASES--POINTS OF VIEW

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of current issues of high interest. Find selected points-of-view articles, magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, primary source documents and more. A good place to pick a topic for an assignment and get started.
- Points of View Reference Center -- Tutorial (from EBSCO)
- How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account (from EBSCO)

Find an issue several ways:

Browse IN THE NEWS
BROWSE BY CATEGORY
Click on SHOW ALL for A-Z list
Use BASIC SEARCH box

View Articles--Printing & Citation Building

Click on HTML, or PDF link
- Review article
- Print the article
Use RELATED INFORMATION BOX
- Find pro/con in Points of View
- Use other formats for info
Print citation
- Click Print icon in Tools Box
- Click middle radial button
- Select either MLA or APA in drop down
- Click Print to build the citation
- Print citation, keep it with the article
- Edit as needed for MLA / APA guidelines

CIS 130--Winter Term, 2020: Report Databases

REPORT DATABASES--FOR BACKGROUND & OVERVIEW TO HELP YOU DEVELOP YOUR TOPIC

Find your topic for each database>

Use the suggested report titles exactly

Start with the overview articles

Use pro/con articles as needed

Consult the librarian for topics not listed

REPORT DATABASES--OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Searching--

Browse issues three ways:

Click on Browse Issues link

Browse categories

Enter search terms in top box

Click on a topic:

Note the On This Page list

Scroll down to locate articles

Click on articles of interest

Articles--printing and citation building:

Click on DOWNLOAD in TOOLS BOX

The article will open in a new window

Print from the new window

Click on CITE

Click on MLA or APA

Click on SELECT

Copy & paste to Word or Notepad

Print the citation

REPORT DATABASES--POINTS OF VIEW

Find an issue several ways:

Browse IN THE NEWS

BROWSE BY CATEGORY

Click on SHOW ALL for A-Z list

Use BASIC SEARCH box

View Articles--Printing & Citation Building

Click on HTML, or PDF link

Review article

Print the article

Use RELATED INFORMATION BOX

Find pro/con in Points of View

Use other formats for info

Print citation

Click Print icon in Tools Box

Click middle radial button

Select either MLA or APA in drop down

Click Print to build the citation

Print citation, keep it with the article

Edit as needed for MLA / APA guidelines