MCCC Library Guides: ENGL 152--Couch: Overview

Report Databases--to help you develop a topic

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of current issues of high interest. Find selected points-of-view articles, magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, primary source documents and more. A good place to pick a topic for an assignment and get started.
- Points of View Reference Center -- Tutorial (from EBSCO)
- How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account (from EBSCO)
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).
NewsBank (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from Monroe News, The Blade and the Detroit News and hundreds of other newspapers. Also TV news transcripts and texts of news magazines.

JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles and books from many disciplines such as language & literature, history, art & art history, political science, sociology and more. Extensive coverage of all earlier years of publication but usually lacks the most recent 4 or 5 years of journal articles.

See the How to Use JSTOR (for Students) guide.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on a wide range of topics from many disciplines.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

MCCC Library Site
MCCC's new library page; find print & electronic resources, library guides and more.

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)
Gale eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find biographical, overview, historical perspective and other articles and chapters from encyclopedias, handbooks, directories and other reference sources from a variety of disciplines -- Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Sciences and Social Sciences.