MCCC Library Guides: ENGL 151- English Composition Goodwin: Reference

Reference Databases

Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias
Formats include online or in print
Use for overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics
Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance

Britannica Academic (Encyclopaedia Britannica) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles, videos and biographies form the Encyclopaedia Britannica; definitions from the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary; country information from the World Factbook, maps from a world atlas or use a tool to compare country information.
Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Oxford Reference (OUP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reference coverage from Encyclopedias and Companions titles. Definitions and short entries from quick reference titles.. of a broad spectrum of topics spanning 25 different subject areas.
- Oxford Reference Quick Start (from Oxford Reference)
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of current issues of high interest. Find selected points-of-view articles, magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, primary source documents and more. A good place to pick a topic for an assignment and get started.
- Points of View Reference Center -- Tutorial (from EBSCO)
- How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account (from EBSCO)

Credo Overview

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)

Search two ways--

Enter terms Basic Search Box, click on Search button
- Topic Page often the first entry, followed by reference entries
- Browse the entries
- Click on the title to see the article
- Click on PRINT icon to print the article
  - Article opens in a PDF
  - MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-
Click on the BROWSE CREDO link (3 lines next to logo)
- Open a link
- Scroll through the titles listed
- Select a reference work to search
  - Enter your search terms
  - Click on the title of an article
  - PRINT article & citation page

ENGL 151- English Composition Goodwin

Reference Databases

Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Formats include online or in print

Use for overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics

Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance

Credo Overview

Search two ways--

Enter terms Basic Search Box, click on Search button

Topic Page often the first entry, followed by reference entries

Browse the entries

Click on the title to see the article

Click on PRINT icon to print the article

Article opens in a PDF

MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-

Click on the BROWSE CREDO link (3 lines next to logo)

Open a link

Scroll through the titles listed

Select a reference work to search

Enter your search terms

Click on the title of an article

PRINT article & citation page