MCCC Library Guides: Art 282 Art History Neoclassical to Early Modern: Overview

Research Strategy for Art 282

MCCC Library Reference Databases
- Online handbooks, dictionaries, & encyclopedias
- For overview information, definitions, images, biographical info, etc.
MCCC Library Discovery Search
- Locate e-books and articles (also DVDs and print books when our renovated facility re-opens in Campbell LRC)
- Explore your topic in-depth
MCCC Library Article Databases
- Find full articles and article descriptions for journals, magazines, and newspapers
- Find the latest cutting-edge research and information
Other Internet Sources
- Selected credible websites for sources of information
- To update and expand information for your assignment

Oxford/Grove Art Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles, images, and image links for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from ancient to contemporary. Comprehensive coverage plus a timeline of world art, general visual art topic overviews, pronunciation guides for artist names and art terms, podcasts and interviews with contemporary artists, and more.
- Oxford Art Online Training Video (from Oxford Art, 11:09)
- Oxford Art Images Permissions help (from Oxford Art)

MCCC Library Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search multiple (but not all) library databases and the library catalog together. Find articles, eBooks, reference material, videos, DVD's, books, and more. Also available on the library's homepage.
Off-campus Library-Resources login may be required to read full-text, eBooks, etc.
- Guide - MCCC Library Discovery (Homepage) Search

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles; also dissertations, reports and more across all major subject areas, including business, health & medical, social sciences, arts & humanities, education, science, technology, and religion.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

Detroit Institute of Arts
One of the six largest art collections in the united States. A multi-cultural and multi-national survey of creativity from prehistory to the present
Toledo Museum of Art
More than 30,000 works of art representing American and European painting, the history of art in glass, ancient works, Asian and African art, medieval art, sculpture, decorative arts, graphic arts, and modern and contemporary art.