MCCC Library Guides: ENGL 151--Iacopelli / Fall 2022: Overview

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Report Databases--
- Concise, factual, up-to-date resources for overview & background
- Use report databases to help you identify & develop a topic
MCCC Discovery Search--
- To find books, e-books, DVDs, articles and more
- Use for additional resources of all varieties
Article Databases—
- To find magazines, newspapers & journals (peer-reviewed items)
- Use for current, cutting edge information and research
Internet Sources—
- Online information to identify, update & expand information
- Evaluate each site carefully for credibility and currency
Reference Databases & Books—
- Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias online or in print
- For overview info, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of current issues of high interest. Find selected points-of-view articles, magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, primary source documents and more. A good place to pick a topic for an assignment and get started.
- Points of View Reference Center -- Tutorial (from EBSCO)
- How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account (from EBSCO)
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on major issues of current interest. Articles include overview, historical background, pro/con points of view, resources for additional research, and more. A good starting point to choose a topic for your assignment.
- How to Use CQ Researcher Features - Search, Browse, Print, Save (from CQ Press)
- CQ Researcher - How to Cite (from CQ Press)

MCCC Library Site
MCCC's new library page; find print & electronic resources, library guides and more.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles; also dissertations, reports and more across all major subject areas, including business, health & medical, social sciences, arts & humanities, education, science, technology, and religion.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles and books from many disciplines such as language & literature, history, art & art history, political science, sociology and more. Extensive coverage of all earlier years of publication but usually lacks the most recent 4 or 5 years of journal articles.
See the How to Use JSTOR (for Students) guide.
NewsBank (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from Monroe News, The Blade and the Detroit News and hundreds of other newspapers. Also TV news transcripts and texts of news magazines.

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)
OED Oxford English Dictionary (OUP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language, historical dictionary with definitions, word history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Updated frequently.