MCCC Library Guides: ECE--Early Childhood Education: Article Databases

Article Databases

Carefully selected subscriptions
Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
Sources include scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
- Many databases include an option to select peer reviewed, scholarly research articles
- Recognize the different levels of publications--general, trade, scholarly
Search using keywords from your assignment
Each database indexes different sources and has its own editorial policy
Each database navigates differently
- Look for directions and tips on the search page
- Ask the librarian for assistance

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on a wide range of topics from many disciplines.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

To search the Research Library--

Peruse the list of articles
Note the date and length of an article
Select one by clicking on the title
Read the abstract or first few paragraphs
- Determine if article is appropriate
- Evaluate the complexity of the article

Click on the Full-text PDF tab to view the article
- Article appears as it did in the original journal
- Allows you to see charts, pictures, etc.
Look for the Tools Box in the right frame
- Click on the Download PDF button
- Print or save or e-mail the article
Click on the Cite link in the Tools Box
- Select the MLA 8 style from the citation drop-down box
- Highlight and copy the citation
- Paste the MLA citation into Word, Word Pad, etc.
Click on the Back to Search Results link to find other articles