Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCCC Library Homepage

Humanities 151: Music

by Cindy L. Yonovich

Music--Streaming Music Database (NAXOS) & Reference Database (OXFORD/GROVE MUSIC ONLINE)

Streaming Music Databases--
  • Provide online recordings of music from wide variety of sources
  • Work on any computer or device with an Internet connection
  • Searchable by artist, title, or genre
Reference Databases--
  • Online handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias
  • Use for overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & criticism
  • Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance

Streaming Music Database--Naxos

Use NAXOS to listen to classical music
 
Searching NAXOS--
  • Enter search terms in the box
  • Note various renditions of the music

 

Listening to the music on NAXOS--

  • Set the volume on your device
  • Click on the music links for the selections you want to hear
  • Download with the PLAY SELECTIONS button
  • Click on the WORK DETAILS button, if provided for that particular work, to obtain:
  • Work Information
  • Work Analysis
  • Available Recordings

Music Reference Database--Oxford/Grove Music Online

Use Oxford/Grove Music Online--to obtain scholarly articles about music, composers & musicians--
 

SEARCHING

  • Enter your search terms in the SEARCH Box
  • Check LIMITER Boxes as needed
  • Click on SEARCH

 

RESULTS

  • Scroll down and view the results
  • Click on the link for the article needed
  • View and evaluate individual items
  • Print citation

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian