Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCCC Library Homepage

Humanities 151: All of the Arts

by Cindy L. Yonovich

Reference Database (CREDO) & Article Databases (ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER & NEWSBANK)

Reference Databases--
  • Online handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias
  • Use for overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & criticism
  • Ask the librarian or your instructor for assistance
______________________________________________
Article Databases--
  • Carefully selected subscriptions containing authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
  • Sources include scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Each database indexes different sources and navigates differently

Reference Database--Credo

Search two ways:

  • Enter terms in the Basic Search Box, click on Search button

    • Topic Page is always the first entry, followed by reference entries

    • Browse the entries

    • Click on the title to see the article

    • Click on PRINT icon to print the article

      • Article opens in a PDF

      • MLA & APA citations print on separate page -OR-

  • Click on the FIND A BOOK link

    • Open the a link

    • Click on the link

    • Scroll through the titles listed

    • Select a reference work to search

      • Enter your search terms

      • Click on the title of an article

      • PRINT article & citation page

Article Database--Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier--searching

  • Enter your terms in the search boxes

  • Use the drop down options as needed for keyword, subject, etc.

  • Check the Limit Results boxes for full text (& peer reviewed if needed)

  • Click on the Search link

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Academic Search Premier--View Items--Printing & Citation Building

Click on the article title to view the citation

  • Click on the PDF or HTML link for full text

  • Print the article

  • Print the citation in MLA format

    • Click on the Print icon in the tools box

    • Click on the middle radial button

    • Select MLA from the drop down box

    • Click Print to build the citation

    • Edit as needed to comply with MLA guidelines

Article Database--Newsbank

Searching:

  • Click on newspaper title of choice

  • OR search sources all simultaneously

  • Enter search terms

  • Click on Search

  • Note the number of search results

    • Limit by Decade, Year, Month or Day if necessary

    • Also note Shortcuts to other newspapers in left frame

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Viewing articles--Printing & Citation Building:

  • Click on Print in the Tools Bar

    • Check boxes for Include Document and Include Citation

    • Select citation style from the drop down box--APA or MLA

  • Citation will appear on top of the page

  • Click on Print Document link on right

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian