Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Therapy: Article Databases

by Cindy Yonovich

USE DISCOVERY SEARCH AND/OR INDIVIDUAL ARTICLE DATABASES TO FIND CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFORMATION AND RESEARCH

„Searching tips--
  • „Use keywords from your assignment, then use subject headings as needed
  • „Each database is unique
    • „Indexes different sources & has its own editorial policy
    • „Search several databases to find pertinent articles
  • Each database navigates differently--use the directions from this guide
  • SAVE ITEMS & CITATIONS USING A MECHANICAL DEVICE AND A CLOUD-BASED BACK-UP
    • Update a bibliography in WORD for your Works Cited page
    • EMAIL ITEMS TO YOURSELF
      • Save them in a designated folder
      • Include or build your own APA citation

NURSING ARTICLES DISCOVERY SEARCH

Use the RTH Article Databases Discovery Search to simultaneously search the following databases:
  • CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
  • Nursing and Allied Health (ProQuest)

ARTICLES DATABASES--NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH DATABASE (PROQUEST)

Searching--

  • Enter search terms
    • Use keywords
    • Use Boolean operators between terms as needed
  • Check boxes for
    • Full Text
    • Peer Reviewed
  • Click on Search

Results--

  • Use the Narrow Results option in the left frame & update results

    • Select Scholarly Journals

    • Limit date range in Publication Date option

  • Review article titles--

    • Click on title results that look interesting

    • Review the article

 

  • Use the Tools Box in right frame to print/save the article & citation

    • Download the PDF for the article

      • Print the article -OR-

      • Save/e-mail the article

    • Highlight and copy the citation

      • Print the citation

      • Save/e-mail the citation

ARTICLES DATABASES--CINAHL COMPLETE (EBSCO)

BASIC SEARCH--enter your search terms in the boxes
  • Use suggested terms & Boolean operators as needed
  • Note facets to refine results
    • Check FULL TEXT box
    • Check PEER REVIEWED box
    • Fill in desired PUBLISHED DATES
VIEW ARTICLES--Printing/Saving Article & Citation Building
  • Click on the PDF link for full text
    • Review the article for content
    • Print or SAVE the article--
      • Use the printer icon -OR-
      • Use the DOWNLOAD THE PDF link
  • Build the citation in APA format
    • Click on the Print icon in the Tools Box
      • Click the middle radial button
      • Select APA in the drop down box
      • Click Print to build the citation
    • Print or SAVE the citation and keep it with the article
    • Edit as needed to comply with APA guidelines