MCCC Library Guides: Respiratory Therapy: Overview

Research Strategy

Reference Databases & e-Books—
- Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias online or in print
- For overview information, definitions, historical perspective, and statistics
Article Databases—
- Sources include journals (many peer-reviewed) and trade publications
- To find current, cutting edge information and research
Internet Sources—
- Online information to identify, update & expand information
- Evaluate each site carefully for credibility
E-books
- For additional, in-depth info
- For clinical skills building

Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find information on diseases and conditions, nursing best practices, pharmaceuticals and drugs. Also videos and images to aid in patient care, care plans, evidence based care sheets, patient handouts, and quick lessons.

Merck Manual Professional
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

Ulrichsweb (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find detailed information on periodicals or serials of all types: academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, & more. Find out if a specific title is peer-reviewed or not.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from over 600 nursing and allied health journals. Also find evidence based care sheets, quick lessons for overviews of diseases and conditions, continuing education modules, and descriptions of selected research instruments.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find nursing and allied health journal articles, dissertations and evidence based resources.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

MCCC Library Site
MCCC's new library page; find print & electronic resources, library guides and more.

AARC--American Association for Respiratory Care
A not-for-profit professional association of respiratory therapists & allied health practitioners who are trained to assist physicians in the care of patients with lung disorders and other conditions.
MSRC--Michigan Society for Respiratory Care
A not-for-profit professional association dedicated to providing education, advocacy and resources to promote respiratory health in communities throughout Michigan.
OSRC--Ohio Society for Respiratory Care
A not-for-profit organization that is serves the needs of Respiratory Therapists in the state of Ohio.

Ovid Nursing CC Extended Book Collection (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books for nursing & allied health. Cover fundamentals for assignments, practice, continuing education, and professional development. Includes 5-Minute Clinical Consult

Bioethics by Gale Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662053
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Online version of Bioethics, an encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference.