MCCC Library Guides: SWK 106 Child Welfare: Article Databases

What Are Article Databases?

Carefully selected subscriptions
Contain reliable, full-text articles. Note - you may need to use limit menus to get only full-text.
Sources may include scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
Search using keywords from your assignment
Each database indexes different sources & has its own editorial policy
Each database navigates differently
- Look for directions and tips on the search page
- Check the "Help, Tutorials, and More . . ." option under the description on the A-Z Databases page
- Ask a librarian or your instructor for assistance

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on a wide range of topics from many disciplines.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

AND means all the terms must be present. Focuses your results
- example for this assignment : AND child welfare
OR means at-least-one term must be present. Use synonyms or similar terms to broaden the results
- example for this assignment: social work OR social workers
use LIMITS for Full Text and Peer Reviewed
- Limit by Date as needed, such as 2010 - 2022
Check the abstract to see if the article may work for your assignment
- What are the populations/groups studied?
- What methods do they use to collect data?
- What results or conclusions do they obtain?
- What recommendations do they make?

View article using the Full Text-PDF option if available

Do NOT bookmark using the browser. It will not work later. Do at least 2 of the following menu options:

Email
Download and save the PDF to your device or use the Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive options
Save to ProQuest My Research (requires registration)
Print the article

Cite the article (from the menu or email) and copy to your assignment. Choose APA style. Edit as needed.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).

AND means all the terms must be present. Focuses your results
OR means at-least-one term must be present. Broadens the results.
use LIMITS for Full Text and Peer Reviewed
- Limit by Date as needed, such as 2010 - 2022
Check the abstract to see if the article may work for your assignment
- What are the populations/groups studied?
- What methods do they use to collect data?
- What results or conclusions do they obtain?
- What recommendations do they make?

View article using the PDF option

Do NOT bookmark using the browser. It will not work later. Do at least 2 of the following using the Tools menu:

Email the article (includes citation and permalink) to yourself. Choose APA citation style.
Save the PDF to your device or Google drive
Save the Permalink
Print the article

Cite the article (from the Tools menu or the email) and copy to your assignment. Choose APA style. Edit as needed.