MCCC Library Guides: OER's at MCCC: Find OER

Open Textbook Collection

Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.

Openstax College
Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
OER Commons
Provides college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Saylor Academy
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
MERLOT Open Textbook
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated resource of free and online textbooks for use in teaching and learning.
BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
OpenTextbookStore
A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.
Textbook Equity
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
State University of New York (SUNY) Open Textbooks
With the initiative of the SUNY Libraries, Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.

Finding Images

Creative Commons Search Tool
Search websites for images you can share, use, and remix. Creative Commons allows creators of works to release them into the public domain or license works by placing some restrictions on their use.
Google Advanced Image Search
Limit your Google image search to images that that you can reuse.
Openclipart
All images in this website are all available copyright free since all are in public domain.
Pexels
All photos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. This means the pictures are completely free to be used for any legal purpose.
Pixabay
Free images or videos that you can use anywhere.
Public Domain, Copyright Free, Open Source, and Student Use Images and Media
Provides links to many copyright-free or public domain image collections.

OER Repositories

OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.

OER Commons
Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
Lumen Learning
Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
MERLOT II
Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
The OrangeGrove
Florida's digital repository for instructional resources.
California Open Online Library for Education (Cool4Ed)
Library of free open source textbooks and other materials from the State of California Higher Educations Systems.
Open Courseware Consortium
Free and open collection of high-quality learning materials presented in the form of courses.
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.
Internet Archive
This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.