Skip to main content

Respiratory Therapy: Article Databases

by Cindy Yonovich

USE ARTICLE DATABASES TO FIND CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFORMATION AND RESEARCH

„Search using--
  • „Keywords from your assignment
  • „Then use subject headings
  • „Each database:
    • „Indexes different sources
    • „Has its own editorial policy
    • „Search several databases to find pertinent articles
  • „Each database navigates differently:
    • „Use the directions from this guide
    • „Also look for directions & tips on the database search page

ARTICLE DATABASES--NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH (PROQUEST)

Nursing & Allied Health Searching--
  • Enter search terms
    • Use keywords
    • Use Boolean operators as needed
  • Check boxes for
    • Full Text
    • Peer Reviewed
  • Click on Search
Nursing & Allied Health Results--
  • Use the Narrow Results option in the left frame facets & update results
    • Use additional search terms & Boolean operators as needed
    • Select Scholarly Journals
    • Limit date range in the Publication Date option
  • Review article titles--
    • Click on title results that look interesting
    • Review the article
  • Use the Tools Box in right frame of a selected article to print the article & citation
    • Download and print the PDF for the article
    • Highlight and copy/print the citation

ARTICLE DATABASES--NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH (GALE)

Nursing & Allied Health--searching
  • Enter your search terms
  • Use the drop down option as needed for keyword, subject, etc.
  • Use the Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT as needed
  • Check MORE OPTIONS boxes for Full Text & Peer Reviewed
  • Click on the Search box
Nursing & Allied Health--View Items--Printing & Citation Building
To see an individual article, click on the title to open it
  • Download the PDF & print the article
  • Build the Citation by clicking on the CITE button
    • Select APA style
    • Select, paste & print the citation
    • Keep the citation with the article
Nursing & Allied Health--finding issues of Respiratory Care