Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCCC Library Homepage

ENGL 090 Iacopelli/ Fall 2022: Article Databases

ARTICLE DATABASES--FOR CURRENT, CUTTING EDGE INFO & RESEARCH

Article Databases--
  • Carefully selected subscriptions
  • Contain authoritative, reliable, full-text articles
  • Sources include scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search using keywords from your assignment
  • Each database indexes different sources and has its own editorial policy 
  • Each database navigates differently
    • Look for directions and tips on the search page
    • Ask the librarian for assistance

Article Databases--Academic Search Premier

Searching--
  • Enter your search terms in the search boxes
  • Use the drop down options as needed for keyword, subject, etc.
  • Check the Limit Results boxes for full text (& peer reviewed if needed)
  • Click on the Search link
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
View Articles--Printing & Citation Building
  • Click on the PDF or HTML link for full text
    • Review the article for content
    • Print the article
  • Print the citation in MLA format
    • Click on the Print icon in the Tools Box
    • Click on the middle radial button
    • Select either MLA in the drop down box
    • Click Print to build the citation
    • Print citation and keep it with the article
    • Edit as needed to comply with MLA guidelines

ARTICLE DATABASES--NEWSBANK

Searching:
  • Click on newspaper title of choice
  • OR search sources all simultaneously
  • Enter search terms
  • Click on Search
  • Note the number of search results
    • Limit by Decade, Year, Month or Day if necessary
    • Also note Shortcuts to other newspapers in left frame
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Viewing articles--Printing & Citation Building:
  • Click on Print in the Tools Bar
    • Check boxes for Include Document and Include Citation
    • Select citation style from the drop down box--APA or MLA
  • Citation will appear on top of the page
  • Click on Print Document link on right

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian