Skip to Main Content

MCCC Library Homepage

ENGL 090 Iacopelli/ Fall 2022: Overview

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Library Resources to use for your assignment—

Report Databases--
- Concise, factual, up-to-date resources for overview & background
- Use the report databases to help you develop a topic
Article Databases—
- Sources include magazines, newspapers & journals (including peer-reviewed)
- To find current, cutting edge information and research
Internet Sources—
- Online information to identify, update & expand information
- Evaluate each site carefully for credibility
MCCC Library Site--
- Discovery Search + find books and DVDs
- Use for additional info--look at Table of Contents & the Index
Reference Databases & Books—
- For overview information, definitions, historical perspective, & statistics
- Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias online or in print

Report Databases--to help you develop a topic

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context (Gale, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Oxford English Dictionary

OED Oxford English Dictionary (OUP)
The definitive record of the English language, historical dictionary with definitions, word history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Updated frequently.

Article Databases--for current, cutting edge info & research

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO, via MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed) articles on a wide variety of topics and subjects. Covers most disciplines (English, History, Political Science, Technology, etc.).
NewsBank (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from Monroe News, The Blade and the Detroit News and hundreds of other newspapers. Also TV news transcripts and texts of news magazines.

Article Databases with Peer-Reviewed Articles--for advanced research

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journal, magazine, and trade publication articles on a wide range of topics from many disciplines.
- ProQuest Platform Basic Search Guide (from ProQuest, PDF)

Internet Sources--for additional info

USA.gov
Online guide to government information and services.

MCCC Library Site for books & DVDs

MCCC Library Site
MCCC's new library page; find print & electronic resources, library guides and more.

Reference Sources--database & books for definitions, background, etc.

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, pronunciations, images, maps, overviews, and topic introductions from hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. Covers art, medicine, history, technology, literature and more. Use the Mind Map feature to identify related terms and topics.
- Citation information is available at bottom of each article
- How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video from Credo, 3:07)
- Mind Map Tutorial (video from Credo, 2:06)
- Credo Reference Image Search (video from Credo, 1:39)

ENGL 090--Iacopelli / Fall 2022

MCCC Library Hours | Visit us: Campbell Academic Center (Building C) - 1st Floor | Phone (734)384-4204 | Chat: MCCC Library Chat | Email: Ask A Librarian