Art 282 Art History Neoclassical to Early Modern

Carefully select sources to update and expand your information

• Ask a librarian or your instructor
• Evaluation Criteria
  • Author
  • Authenticity
  • Currency
• No Wikipedia nor Google for Art History
  • images may contain malware
  • information about images may be inaccurate

Search for Art

• ART tab, choose Search for Art from the menu
  • Use the Refine and Sort menu to focus the results
  • Choose by  Date (such as 1700 to 1950), Color, On View, etc.
• View an individual work for historical context and details about the work and artist

Plan a visit

• Use the VISIT tab for hours, parking, admissions and location information

Browse/Search the Collection

Browse

• Choose Collection in the ART tab menu
• Browse one of the collections, such as works on Paper
• Filter by Date (for example, 1700 - 1950); and Classification (for example, Drawings)
• View details about the work and artist
• Filter by On View, if you plan to visit

Search at Toledo Museum of Art - Search the Collection

• Choose Collection in the ART tab menu
• Example, enter rococo in the Search the Collection box
• Filter - Refine Results: Date 1700 to 1950
• View Details about a particular work

Provenance and Repatriation

Provenance and Repatriation - Toledo Museum of Art

• Learn more about the record of ownership of an artwork (provenance), how to read a provenance and how the Museum documents and resolves ownership claims.
• Read about examples of artworks from the Museum collections, such as four 14th Century Manuscript Leaves, that have been de-accessioned and returned to the Venice State Archive.

Plan a Visit

•  Use the VISIT tab to find out about special events and plan a visit