Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Resources: GENERAL INFORMATION

This guide profiles nursing resources in the areas of general information guidelines, health sciences databases (also available through the MCCC A-Z List), APA style guidelines for nursing papers/reports and nursing training resources access (Medcom).

NURSING RESOURCES @ MCCC

Nursing Resources@MCCC provides information on a variety of nursing-related topics including:

  • General information guidelines for MCCC nursing resources
  • Health sciences databases available through the MCCC A-Z Listing
  • APA Style information & Tips
  • Medcom nursing training information
  • NNLM – National Network of Libraries of Medicine Resources and Training

Feel free to contact any MCCC Library librarian, staff member, or the MCCC library director with questions, suggestions, etc.

NURSING RESOURCES SEARCH @ MCCC LIBRARY

When you search for nursing resources using the MCCC Library Discovery Search (located on the MCCC Library homepage) you are required to locate and use resources from the past 5 years (in order to reflect the standards of Evidence Based Practice Nursing and APA scholarly writing -- using the most current and up to date research available).

Once you’ve entered your desired nursing/medical search terms in the search box, go to the left-side panel and scroll down until you find:

There, you can either click on the Last 5 Years link or type in a Custom Year Range and click the red Apply Year Range button to see revised results.

You can also refine your search further by selecting desired formats, full-text, etc.

HEALTH SCIENCES DATABASES@MCCC

The following databases feature Nursing content and are available from the MCCC Library to use:

CINHAL Complete (EBSCO) Full text access for 640 nursing and allied health journals, plus indexing for more than 5,500 journals.

EBSCO DATABASES Listing of all EBSCO databases provided by MeL, the Michigan Electronic Library.

Health Reference Series (Omnigraphics) Multiple volumes provide basic medical information for patients, families, caregivers, & the general public; excellent resources for reference, research, and personal information.

Medcom Nursing Videos Nursing and allied health care videos selected by MCCC faculty.

MEDLINE (ProQuest) Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Contains millions of citations, indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary.

Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) Broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.

Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Provides information about diseases and conditions; evidence-based care sheets, etc.

Ovid Nursing Book Collection E-books for nursing & allied health fundamentals.

Ovid Nursing Journal Collection Nursing & allied health online journals for nursing information and research.

You can also find these journals listed by clicking on the A-Z Databases tab  on the left side of the MCCC Library Homepage and locating Nursing using the drop down under the subjects tab.

NEED HELP? CHAT / ASK-A-LIBRARIAN & MCCC WRITING CENTER

If you need help on how to use databases, etc., please reach out to your MCCC librarians and staff at any time.  We’re here to help!

To learn how to access our Live Chat/Ask-A-Librarian Services, please click here.  You can also go to the Student Tutorials tab found on the left side of the MCCC Library Homepage .

Do you struggle with writing assignments? Help is available! Use this link for resources and information on how the MCCC Writing Center can help you improve your writing skills.

Professor - Technical Services/Reference Librarian

Thomas Adamich's picture
Thomas Adamich
Contact:
MCCC Library
1555 S. Raisinville Rd.
Monroe, MI 48161
734-384-4161